The Chili Cheese Dog Aficionado Doppelgängers Connection: Larry the Cable Guy vs. Larry the Oracle GuyTonight I took the stage with 18 other folks in front of +700 other folks for Ignite Raleigh at the Lincoln in downtown Raleigh. My presentation was “The Redneck Guide to Silicon Valley”.

I had a lot of fun and kept up with the pace of 15 seconds per slide pretty well even if I did trip up a few times. The format is a challenging one but that’s the fun part too.

This was my slide deck….

 

The Redneck Guide To Silicon Valley

View more presentations from Jay Cuthrell.

Controlling the mic most melodic was MC Zach Ward (@zachward). Let’s just say that MC Zach Ward touched us all in ways that ranged from appropriate to slightly more appropriate while exhibiting the grace of a man in tights. On the assist was the #OurHashTag team keeping it nailed down for all involved. They even streamed it live and saved it for posterity (my presentation is at the 1:43 mark but watch em all!).

The other Ignite presenters were an absolutely amazing bunch and it was an honor to share a stage with them. They were in no particular order based on my mental notes:

Everything is dust in the flower pot Charlotte Goodman-Smith and Christine Fawley (@LearnPleasure) boldly went where no man has gone before… but probably should. And often.

Janet Kennedy (@jkennedy93) gave us all pause to think about what a few cents mean and could mean to others.

David Millsaps (@eyevariety) of New Raleigh made the case for hitting the books again and thinking about social with that in mind.

Jess Commins (@renewabelle) made sure that everyone would think about caulk in ways that make a old man blush and a young man squeal.

Henry Copeland (@hc) made sure we all knew that warts can kill startups.

Lisa Creech Bledsoe (@glowbird) rocked the stage and convinced everyone to consider becoming a woman… a boxing woman.

Ryan Boyles (@therab) detailed his plans to avoid skateboarding zombies along a post-apocalyptic path on the way to SxSW.

Evan Carroll (@evancarroll) explored what happens to your digital self when your real world self ends up in a flower pot.

Natasha Crawford (@natashacrawford) convinced us to dip our pens in the home ink instead of the company ink.

Jay Dolan (@jaydolan) made the case for shutting the laptop, turning off the iphone, and following dreams instead of avatars.

Elizabeth Gardner (@WRALweathergal) humbled everyone attending with her relentless nap-free day serving up the new of localized precipitation and average kinetic energy.

Nadia Moffett (@missncusa2010) showed us what it means to change lives by building relationships and being Miss NC!

Chris Moody (@cnmoody) highlighted where customer acceptance begins and bias ends in how you form a team of rock stars and the crucial entourage of dumb.

Charlotte Moore (@cavaticat) put forth the argument that a five letter word synonym for woman is cylon and there should be a massively multi-muliebrity meeting of minds.

Laurie Ruettimann (@lruettimann) finished strong with a hard hitting expose on the intricacies of gaming business social networking sites using tomcat tomfoolery.

George Smart (@georgesmartTMH) showed us homes that created by artists for artists in residence and those that host them.

Bethany Smith (@bethanyvsmith) opened strong with a second slide that said it all made everyone that followed her question the decks yet to be shared.

Dan Wilson (@danwilson) delivered dry humor with a heaping helping of health wisdom and confirmed that 30 minutes is actually 30 minutes while confirming he should be run for State Treasurer.

Last but definitely no least — a huge thanks to the VENUE, SPONSORS, and the VOLUNTEERS that made the night possible!

More added as I think of it… :)

Thanks Raleigh! Thanks Ignite!